Vintage Wedding Gown Inspiration

My wedding was a dream. I mean, I’m just being honest – it really was everything I could have wished for. All the decor turned out how I imagined, the ceremony was smooth (minus one slip up with the rings), and the photos were nothing short of stunning. It was SO dreamy that I’m ready to do it again. And again, and again, and again. I could do nothing but plan weddings the rest of my life. There were some pull my hair out moments, a few tears shed for silly reasons, and stress up to my eyeballs, but now that I know how it all goes and I’ve done the background work the next time would be easy. I keep saying, “new dress, new decor theme, same man – let’s do it again!” Yeah…don’t think my parents OR husband would go for that. A girl can dream right? Little does my hubby know…he just has to wait about 9 more years before I start bugging him about a vow renewal involving a big white dress πŸ˜‰

Anyway, my coworker, friend, and fellow blogger showed me this AMAZING website and I wanted to share with you guys. You know how crazy I am about weddings and I think one of these vintage wedding dresses could be the inspiration for an entire wedding theme.

Just sigh dramatically with me as we go through all of these amazing gowns…

vintage balenciaga

Balenciaga 1960

Christian Dior Vintage Wedding Gown

Christian Dior 1950

dior vintage wedding dress

Christian Dior 1955
Pierre Balmain vintage wedding dress

Pierre Balmain 1970

vintage valentino wedding dress

Valentino 1970

vintage valentino wedding gown

Valentino 1970

Are these NOT TO DIE FOR? I’m in love with them all, though I think my favorites are the last two Valentino dresses. He just knows how to dress a woman. If you haven’t seen The Last Emperor, you must. “I love beauty, it’s not my fault.” – Valentino. But I digress…

These are giving me wedding fever and I’m already married. The best thing about these gorgeous one of a kind dresses? They’re surprisingly affordable as wedding gowns go! Ranging from $2,000 to $5,000 – that’s pretty average for a gown, let alone a designer gown.

And for good measure πŸ™‚

my wedding photos

xoxo!

12 Comments

Filed under Style

12 responses to “Vintage Wedding Gown Inspiration

  1. When I get married, I’ll let you plan it. πŸ™‚

    (but that means you have to pay for it, too!!)

  2. I love, love, love the Valentino 1970. I’ve been married for 7.5 years, so it is perfectly acceptable to have another wedding at this point – right?

    PS: I think I will keep the same groom πŸ™‚

    • Angie, I think you’re coming up on 2nd wedding time. Same groom, naturally. And that dress? It’s definitely reason enough to plan a 2nd wedding! When Sarah found that site I couldn’t believe how many GORGEOUS gowns there were! So special!

  3. I feel like Stacie could MAKE a dress that looks like the last Valentino. And I bet she would if you asked her nicely πŸ™‚

    • Oh my gosh how did I miss that second one? I love it! And the mink trimmed one is so super glam. I think it’s so interesting that you could find look-a-likes of any of these in a modern bridal collection. Just goes to show you classic styles like those are literally timeless.

  4. Hahahahhaah! These dresses are amazing!!! HAhaha I am not talented enough to sew that but my mom is! πŸ˜€

  5. Pingback: Valentino’s Virtual Museum | The Sassy Stylista

  6. The Christian Dior 1950s tulle and lace dress is inspiring me to create a tulle and lace first communion dress for my designer collection. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

