Je T’aime Paris

To me, Paris and the countryside of France just have a certain je ne sais quoi. I don’t know what has always drawn me to French culture, but ever since I can remember I’ve been in love with it. I was lucky enough to visit France when I was 14. My family went on a trip to Europe and we got to visit Paris, Normandy, Versailles and drive through the French countryside. I thoroughly enjoyed myself then, but I’d do anything to go back and do it all over again. I took French in high school and, unfortunately, walked away with very little more than the basics of the language. BUT since it’s such a big part of how I’ve developed my style. I’ll share my favorite French inspired everything….

French Phrases

  • Moi – for being sassy
  • Quel dommage! Means, “what a pity!”
  • Qu’est-ce que c’est? Translates to “what is this?”
  • Sacrebleu! Translates to “holy blue!” but is an exclamation of horror or shock. I’m pretty sure I picked this up from The Little Mermaid, you know, when the French chef tries to cook Sebastian?

My favorite movies set in Paris

  • Amelie– Michael actually told me about this movie. He watched it in a college design class and it is probably my all time favorite movie. There’s very little I can say other than YOU MUST SEE IT! Seriously. It’s amazing. And it’s all in French so you have to read subtitles, but if my all sports loving dude of a husband enjoyed it, you know that it’s gotta be pretty great. Also, the soundtrack is excellent.
  • Sabrina – Though not set entirely in Paris, it’s an integral part in both the 1954 and 1995 versions. Love this movie!
  • Funny Face – Fred Astaire and Audrey Hepburn plus fashion. Need I say more?
  • Passport to Paris – Hey, the Olsen twins were awesome back in the day and it was pretty epic when they ran around Paris. Just sayin.
  • The Phantom of the Opera – Set in the back staircases and secret passageways of the historic Garnier Opera house, it’s a dark classic! I’ve also seen the broadway play – it’s life changing. And Gerard Butler is the phantom in the movie. Hot.

{random fact: I listened to the broadway soundtrack on the way to school most mornings from age 7-10. Mom always played it – literally at the request of us and our carpoolers. I’m not kidding}

French Architecture

Just. Look. It’s breathtaking.
Anddd just for fun you should check out French Wedding Blogs – those pretty details seem so much fancier because they’re French. My co-worker {and friend} Sarah showed me this. You should check out her lovely blog! She has great DIY, style, and decor stuff over at Tulle and Trinkets!
I could go on forever about the art, and the music, and the food and….well I could go on forever, but I won’t. And to you all I say, “Bonne soirée!” Which means, have a nice evening!
3 Comments

Filed under Life, Style

3 responses to “Je T’aime Paris

  1. LOVE this post 🙂 I knew you’d like those French weddings. Au revoir!

  2. Kelli Ellis

    Oh, I’m so glad you’re blogging again. Your writing truly refreshes the soul! I think I’ll go listen to the Phantom . . . I must admit that as a mother of elementary carpoolers, I was concerned you’d figure out the words in one song that mentioned being “tangled in the sheets.” Sacrebleu!! I’ve got to go now, because “HE’S HERE!” Now sing with me in your best opera voice . . .

  3. Ditto on the writing, missed my styling note-ist! Glad you are back in force!

Leave a Reply

