Sex and the Desert

I apologize for my huge absence! I’ve been on vacation and moving and starting a new work and then traveling for work so I’ve been busier than busy and my blog has taken a backseat.  But I think I’m ready to take back the reigns and give you some more!!

So it’s been awhile but I’ve been wanting to write my thoughts on the Sex and the City 2 movie!! It got a lot of mixed feedback from it’s fans.  But being the huge fan that I am I read everything and anything I could get my hands on about the production of the movie and word from it’s famous stylist Patricia Fields.

You can actually go on her website and buy designs that she created for the movie!!! I’m drooling over the opening scenes white dress with Jay-Z’s “Empire State of Mind” blaring in the background.  That was the BEST way to open the movie.  It’s pure Carrie and ALL of why we love her.  The song and lyrics were PERFECT for the movie and a powerful, punchy way to kickstart the movie.

“New York,
Concrete jungle where dreams are made of,
There’s nothing you can’t do,
Now you’re in New York!
These streets will make you feel brand new,
the lights will inspire you,
Let’s hear it for New York, New York, New York”

But I digress…If you read some of the interviews with director Michael Patrick King or any of the SATC ladies they’ll tell you this story was an adventure.  They didn’t spend as much time developing the characters and the complex storyline.  The last movie was pretty heavy and this one they wanted to be fun and opulent.  I could go on and on about the Abu Dhabi setting and the storyline but I’ll focus on the clothes…

To keep up with the storyline the clothes had to be as outrageous and adventurous as the caper they went on! That scene where all of the ladies are wearing vintage and couture on camels is just ridiculous.  But we love it! We want to see what all of the characters wear and how they wear it.  We may not copy all of it, but we want to see it.  Dressed in jewels, head-dresses and heels to die for the sassy quad made trekking across the Moroccan desert look like nothing ever seen before.  Move over Lawrence of Arabia, the SATC girls bring the desert to a whole new level!

I’ll let you read more fashion coverage from the experts in Vogue’s article.

And I can promise you I’ll be the first in line to buy it as soon as it’s out on DVD! And i’m saving money to purchase clothes from Patricia Fields ASAP!

Leave a comment

Filed under Style

Leave a Reply

